h1

Lessons learned

12.07.2010

An interesting question if there is one – what has WoW taught you?

Well, I like lists, so I’ll make a list out of this one. Saves me from thinking up suave segues from one point to the next, something which I’d find incredibly difficult with office (inside!) temperature stuck at over 36° all afternoon. I’m also writing a short entry on why we lost the RealID battle, but if you look around and read the usual suspects, you’ll see that there are more than enough bloggers cautioning against blind forgiveness and instead are very, very sceptical on the outcome of this whole incident.

1) Business studies wasn’t a complete waste. Although I’m by no means a power-broker, I think that the basic lesson from four years of business studies and computer science weren’t wasted. The auction-house is a wonderful simplified model that, in my opinion, should be used as a case example at university to make lectures more interesting.

2) People are even worse at spelling than I thought. Especially on the internet. While I don’t claim to be error free, at least I make an effort. And if it’s so bad that it’s bothering me in English, I dare not imagine what my native language German servers are like. And no, I won’t try and find out – my faith in humanity is frail enough as it is.

3) For every jerk you meet there is a decent person around the corner. Or, in WoW, for every roflstomping DK grieving you of your quest kills, there is a friendly fellow mage around the corner who’s on the same quest as you and wouldn’t mind teaming up and sharing the loot.

4) Apparently, what I say is of interest to someone. Over 1000 views on this blog, thank you all!

5) I still can find huge fun and enjoyment in tinkering with scripts and configurations. This tells me that, contrary to my original fears, the past decade (almost) of working as software developer didn’t kill computers as my hobby and passion.

Addendum: I also learn the quirks of my spell checker. “roflstomping” gets replaced by “reupholstering”. Close, but not quite.

5 comments

  1. Hmm, it’s almost 1am currently and my brain is already shutting down so for now I can’t think of anything I learnt in WoW.. Heck I probably couldn’t think of what I ate for breakfast.

    I can definitely agree on number 2 though. I wonder sometimes if they really are that bad at spelling, or if they just don’t care enough to try. Maybe it’s because I’ve been a writer at heart ever since I was a kid, but I just can’t bring myself to spell like a 3 year old even in a game.


  2. As a fairly old guy, who’s used computers nearly his entire work life, WoW totally tested me in learning how to manipulate files on my MAC.

    Addons, not just downloading/installing and using them, but the whole concept of people writing programs that can overlay licensed software was quite an education. Very cool.

    and Blogs. I had never read a blog before. A whole world of communication and connection that I now would not choose to live without.

    Thanks, WoW.


  3. I’m constantly surprised at #4 too – I can’t believe that people care what I have to say on my blog!

    And #2 is true. It depresses me ’cause it’s true.


  4. [...] Pndrv of Primetime Casual [...]


  5. Unfortunately #2 will only get worse, in this day and age of multi-touch phones with tiny little keyboards, and leet speak, good enough is going to flourish. (thank goodness for spellcheckers built into firefox). “fact’s of life” theme song comes to mind..

    #3 is becoming so very apparent as I level a new toon (to 80) via the random dungeon finder. Too often, we assume that the player on the other end is like us, then some “kid” (age or maturity) comes along and ruins it for everyone.

    #4 is IMHO, bloggers are one of the best aspects to the WoW community. For every class out there, you can find quite a few people blogging on it. Then add sites like Blog Azeroth, where we can all meet to share ideas.



Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

