h1

The relative nature of ‘casual’

04.03.2010

How casual is casual?

I consider myself a casual player. As in, I play when I feel like it – which admittedly is quite often. I’m not particularly competitive – although I once was. I don’t like theorycrafting, min-maxing or grinding. I like exploring at a leisurely pace, doing quests for their story and goofing around with talent builds instead of sticking to carefully calculated ones. I’m not interested the slightest in PvP, Battlegrounds or raiding.

The hardcore player would look at that and say “well obviously, he’s playing only casually’.

The casual player, however, would take a look at my average 280 minutes playtime per day (weekends currently peak at close to 600 minutes a day) and say “he’s nuts, a hardcore gamer, clearly”.

Great.

If you ask me, and you did by clicking on this blog (thanks by the way!), I’d define myself as a hardcore gamer who enjoys casual gameplay. Years ago, I was a true hardcore gamer, albeit in a different game. Competitive, in leagues and tourneys. Yes it was fun, but I decided a long time ago that those years were enough.

I think that quite a few ‘casuals’ are like me, former ‘hardcore’ players that just decided that right now, in this game, they just want to relax and have fun. It is the reason why I find any flamefest between those two factions so mindboggingly unnecessary, as I know both sides from personal experience. The current controversy about the ICC buff is a prime example.

It doesn’t take away the accomplishments of those who already cleared Arthas. It makes it possible for others, who paid as much for the gametime as progression players, to eventually see that content. And even then, only those who are organised enough. It’s not about making ICC an automatic win for everybody. It just makes it accessible for those who enjoy the game at a different pace. And that can’t possibly be a bad thing. They are Blizzards customers, the majority, in fact.

Does the buff make ICC easier? Yes. Definitely. Would I feel treated unfairly if I was progression? Probably. But then, I’d get cataclysm and new progression content to keep me happy.

Progression guilds and casual guilds are playing the same game. They just differ in pace and attitude. But both are valid approaches and both should be allowed to enjoy the entire content of World of Warcraft.

This game is big enough for all of us.

