h1

A weekend recap – the Good the Bad the Funny

07.06.2010

The TLDR

Politeness pays, Horde sucks and all that with 100% more armoury links.

The Good

My warlock completed her Felhunter quest. That in itself is a good bit of news, but I met a fellow warlock on the same quest. We teamed up – this was the last stage, the channeling rod search in the Orc camp – and I have to say, the sheer chaos and destruction that two destro-locks can wreak upon a group of Elites that had my biting the edge of my desk two days earlier is… impressive. I can’t wait to see more of it!

I met him again at the summoning circle, where he helpfully (if unnecessarily) supported me in killing the summoned Felhunter.

The question now is, why did I team up with him but not with several other characters I meet in the zones? Because – he asked first. Was I doing the same quest and would I mind grouping for the last rod he needed? For one, replying to his whisper put him on the ‘trusted’ list of AutoDecline and two, even if I prefer soloing, I’m much too polite to decline such a request.

The Bad

A couple of Horde players decided to camp Sentinel Hill in Westfall. This was annoying. They especially waited right by the Griffon Master, and managed to kill him before I could start the travel. Now, that is exactly a case why I don’t play on PvP servers. They were a full group of level 80 players in a starter zone, no chance of defending or retaliating. And the prospect of such jerks (I’m much too polite to express my exact sentiments) being able to gank me without fear, though or reason is simply too mindbogglingly stupid. Yes, the world of Azeroth is at war between Horde and Alliance. But that is dealt with in the Battlegrounds, there is simply no mechanic that offers any reason for just go and kill some low-level character that doesn’t even net any honour for the killer.

Not that I would mind trying a few Battlegrounds, that actually seems like fun and reminds me of my old days in FPS leagues. But it boils down to the debate around non-/consensual PvP, something that such prominent bloggers as Tobold have explained much more in detail and much more eloquently than I could.

The Funny

Well, depending on how you look at it anyway. I decided to link my roster page to the armoury profiles. For giggles, you even have my permission to look them up! Laugh, cry, facepalm or headdesk at your leisure – maybe even drop a hint. Just keep in mind that any improvement or upgrade should ideally be obtainable using nothing but a casual playstyle, soloing and in extreme cases the auction house. I think I’m doing fairly well so far, even if it’s all a bit improvised.

Postscriptum

I tweaked my UI again. Buttonfacade has a few nice non-square skins. Personally, I’d recommend Renaître, which offers square, rounded corners and completely round action buttons.

2 comments

  1. Oh, I hate it when high level players grief low level ones. I don’t quite understand the enjoyment they get out of it. Had a similar thing recently when I was trying out a horde alt in Crossroads. Some alliance were there killing questgivers, and as I was running towards the food vendor they made sure to reach it before me and kill it.

    I can’t stand people like that.

    PvP is good and all – but at least do it to someone who has a chance of defending themselves, and leave the friggin’ quest-givers and vendors alone!


    • Exactly. I mean, okay, when the horde came to Goldshire and set up camp in the inn and dozens of Ally 80’s couldn’t get them out – even I thought that was sort of hilarious. And I fell off my chair laughing when a lone Orc actually made it as far as the Stormwind auction house.

      But the Gryphon Master in Westfall? When all that are around are a couple level 17’s and a single 30?

      I would have dared them to pull that stunt just two miles up the road – in Stormwind. But unfortunately my Orcish is quite limited. 😀



Comments are closed.

