h1

Why walk when you can port?

05.07.2010

When you play so many alts, especially low level, it is sometimes quite surprising what you find out by accident. For example, I discovered to my delight that my mage can actually learn teleportation. Granted, he was able to learn that eight levels ago, but better now than later.

It doesn’t help that I disregarded portal trainers as, well, portal trainers and waited for teleportation to appear at the usual mage trainers. The discovery, entirely by accident, was followed up by a cry of delight and a trip to the other available capital cities.

What is so great about teleportation? Well, it’s a time-saver, that’s for sure. Especially the trip between continents, or to the remote cities of Darnassus and Exodar is often quite hard to manage if your somewhere else. It uses up a rune, true, but not so much that it is an unaffordable luxury.

My question, now, is: Why are there no custom teleportation spells? Charge a rune with your current location, make the rune consumable and upon use teleport the user to the set place. Maybe limit it to places where you can mount, i.e. outdoors.

Anyway, teleportation ranks very high among my favourite abilities yet and make the mage even cooler to play. I can’t wait to see what I discover the next time I switch characters.

One comment

  1. I had a friend who plays the game very casually and she always used to roll priests. Over and over.. until one day I suggested a mage. And now she will play nothing else for the simple reason that she can’t see herself playing something that can’t teleport *lol*



Comments are closed.

