h1

Thanks for all the fish!

04.11.2010

I spend some time yesterday updating my statistics page. Nothing fancy or surprising there. I’m a bit short on gold, but I went on several Glyph shopping-sprees that drained my account.

What is surprising, or interesting at least, are some of the derived statistics from my more detailed spreadsheet. For example: On average, I need two hours (1h 58m) to level up. The quickest is my druid at just 48 minutes per level – clearly, I simply don’t enjoy playing him and want it done as soon as possible. The slowest would be my warlock at two hours, 23 minutes. Granted, soloing instances that give no experience by the time but take a lot of time plays a role in that, but I just enjoy playing the ‘lock.

For the new level cap in Cataclysm – and it’s a very, very safe bet to say I won’t reach the old level cap before that – I still have 419 levels to go for all eight characters. That would mean another 829 hours of play, assuming levelling doesn’t gradually become quicker over the board. To bring just my currently leading character to level 85, I’m missing 43 levels or roughly 85 hours of playtime.

Of course, I want to start two new characters, a death-knight and a priest – so add another 227 hours for 115 levels to that. Or, total, 1056 hours. Which, conversely, is four and a half days ‘/played’ per character. Probably. And stated like that, I think I’m actually a bit faster than the current average for a casual, non-guilded player.

Another forecast based on that values is that with an average time spent playing WoW each week of 25 hours (over the course of a year – there are weeks with considerably less time and weekends when I play a lot more), it will take me 42 weeks. With any luck, that means level cap before the next expansion is released.

And any prediction with a value of ’42’ is just too cool to ignore.

