h1

Back to the future!

06.12.2010

Right. So I’ve joined the millions of players in 2007. That is, I’ve finally moved to Outland – with one character. There are quite a few pictures attached, so I’ll ask you to join me after the break – your feed reader will thank you for it later.

But before I dive into that, a small complaint. The new leveling is fantastic with the quests and phased areas, but it is too fast. I know it avoids repetition that way, but so would a few more quests. The only way to complete all quests and still stay not too far above the zone’s recommended level is by doing nothing but the exact quest requirements. And that’s boring, especially since a few of the quest targets are on a fast respawn – I think I killed the dragon ‘endboss’ of the Badlands three times, just because it respawned before I could get out of the area.

Anyway, on to happier things. Cataclysm is nearly out. So I felt the need for something to celebrate, and with the now super-smooth (and super-fun!) questing, I chose to ignore my usual rule of  ‘no more than ten levels with a char before switching’ and leveled my Paladin from 30 to 59 in two weeks. And what fun it was! Western Plaguelands, Eastern Plaguelands, Badlands, Searing Gorge, Swamp of Sorrows…. and finally Blasted Lands. I couldn’t help but feel giddy every time I passed by that huge crater and the portal. So I did what any sensible blogger would do – took a whole bunch of screenshots.

This is probably nothing that you haven’t seen before, but it’s been a very long time since I posted screenshots and this is, after all, a major step for me. Sadly I didn’t manage to level to 60 and get my own flying mount. The gold is there, ready to buy the skill and all available starter mounts, so tonight, it’s time for take-off!

And now – screenshots! Click for full-size, as always.

Just another corrupted forest it seems.

The bigger they are....

I expected it to be bigger.

Not that much to look at.

This side of the portal IS impressive, though.

Look ma', I'm in space!

Whee! And that's only the taxi!

Honor Hold, quite a sight.

Even in space, some things never change. Taste steel!

